Please enable javascript to enjoy the full functionality of this website.

Stephen Parker Award

Posted by scott on the Sunday, 21 July 2013

Origins and History of the Stephen Parker Memorial Trust

Stephen Parker was a student of the City of Belfast School of Music who played French Horn in the City of Belfast Youth Orchestra under the direction of Mr Leonard Pugh. Stephen was fourteen and a half years old when he bacame a victim of what has come to be known in the history of Northern Ireland as the Bloody Friday outrage on July 21st, 1972. He died as he endeavoured to warn others of the presence of an unexploded car bomb. An innocent victim of a terrorist outrage in a purely residential area of the City.

The Stephen Parker Memorial Trust was born out of this tragic situation. Knowing how much Stephen appreciated his place in the CBYO, his parents decided that his memorial had to be capable of contributing in the long term towards"the life and welfare of his beloved orchestra." A substantial sum of money donated at the time of Stephen's death was invested and has been further added to over the years. Each year 75% of the annual income of this investment is awarded as a prize to "the member or members of the City of Belfast Youth Orchestra who make the best all round progress during the year." Students are then free to use this award to further their musical study through assisting with lessons or masterclasses or contributing towards the purchase of equipment. The residual amount is reinvested to maintain the value of the prize.

Stephen was a trier and his parents felt it appropriate that "evidence of having tried very hard" ought to be the major factor in deciding eligibility for his memorial prize. Each year the trustees of the memorial meet to decide upon a winner based on evidence provided by the Orchestra staff. The winner is announced and the recipient presented with the award during the Orchestra's Summer Concert

The Stephen Parker Memorial Trust is administered by the Education Authority. Anyone wishing to make a donation to the trust can do so care of :

Ms Therese McKinney

Acting Head of Music Service

City of Belfast School of Music

Fortwilliam Centre

Forwilliam Park


BT15 4AR

Previous Winners

2023 Theo Hayward

2022 Jonathan Hayward

2021 Adam McCambridge

2019 Ellen Quinn

2018 Josh Cargill

2017 Robbie Marrs

2016 Grainne White

2015 Matthew Kendell

2014 Andrew Douglas

2013 Ryan Gray

2012 Michael Bell

2011 Malachy Frame

2010 Susanna Gawn

2009 Emma King

2008 David Douglas

2007 Christopher Rooney

2006 Charles Reilly

2005 Sarah Brown

2004 Michael Trainor

2003 David McCann

2002 Ciaran McCabe

2001 Scott Foster

2000 Jonathan Corry / Michael McHale

1999 Jonathan Coffey

1998 Peter Black

1997 Roger McCann

1996 Kate Openshaw

1995 Natalie Thompson

1994 Anne Harper

1993 S Nesbitt

1992 Robin Clinton

1991 M C Lowry

1990 A Carney

1989 C Taylor

1988 J Fleming

1987 Ruth Montgomery

1986 Nigel Ireland

1985 Cheryl Agnew

1984 Marianne Ho / Ruth Kilpatrick

1983 Janet McMaster / Margaret Flanagan

1982 David McMaster

1981 Rosin McCrisken

1980 Kathryn Clements / Jennifer McCreery

1979 Eleanor Wilkinson

1978 Pauline Fitzpartick

1977 Paul McCrisken

1976 Jeremy Adair

1975 Hazel Mulligan / Dominic McHugh

1974 Noleen Bell / John Anderson

1973 Charles Wood